Twitter, a well-known micro-blogging platform, does not provide a direct method to permanently erase your account. Rather, you must deactivate your account temporarily. If you fail to access your account within the 30-day deactivation window, your account will be deleted permanently, and your username will no longer be linked to your account.
The initial step to permanently delete your Twitter account involves deactivating it, as Twitter doesn’t provide a direct option to do so. Deactivation initiates a 30-day window to decide whether you want to reactivate your account. During this period, your username or handle and the public profile will not be visible on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, or Twitter for Android.
Overview Of Twitter Updates:
Deactivating your Twitter account is a simple process that can be done in a few easy steps.
Step 1: Sign in to your Twitter account
In order to deactivate your account, you must first log in to the account you wish to deactivate.
Step 2: Go to your account settings
To access the settings and privacy options on Twitter, click on the profile picture located in the top right corner of the Twitter homepage. After that choose “Settings and privacy” from the dropdown menu.
Step 3: Click on “Deactivate your account”
After accessing your account settings, you should scroll down to the bottom of the page. And click on the option that says “Deactivate your account”.
Step 4: Confirm deactivation
If you are certain that you wish to deactivate your account, Twitter will prompt you to confirm it. Click the “Deactivate” button to proceed.
Step 5: Enter your password
After clicking on the “Deactivate” button, Twitter will prompt you to verify that you are the account owner by entering your password. Once you have done so, click the “Deactivate Account” button again to proceed.
Step 6: Account deactivated
First, you deactivate your Twitter account, it becomes invisible on the platform. After that all of your tweets, followers, and other account information are deleted from Twitter’s servers. If you change your mind and want to reactivate your account within 30 days, you can simply sign in to restore it.
However, if you don’t log in during the 30-day deactivation window, your account is permanently deleted. This means that your old tweets and account data won’t be accessible, and your previous username will become available for registration by other Twitter accounts.
Also read: Saving Whatsapp Chat: How to Save Your WhatsApp Chat History On Gmail