The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) released the schedule for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 on February 17th. The 16th edition of the tournament will commence on March 31st, 2023. With a match between defending champions Gujarat Titans and four-time champions Chennai Super Kings at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

This season will have 10 teams and follow the same format as the previous year, with each team playing 14 league games, seven at home and seven away. The top four teams from the league standings will progress to the playoffs, although the dates for these are yet to be confirmed. The league stage will conclude on May 21st, 2023, and the final will be held on May 28th, 2023.

There will be a total of 74 matches played, including 70 league games and four playoff matches, with 18 double-headers scheduled. After 2019, this will be the first time matches will have 100% occupancy in the stadiums. Unlike the previous season, fixtures will be played across India, with the Punjab Kings playing their first five home games in Mohali before moving to Dharamshala for their remaining two home matches. The Rajasthan Royals will play their first two home games in Guwahati before returning to their original home in Jaipur.


The upcoming IPL 2023 season will kick off on March 31st with a highly anticipated match between the current champions, Gujarat Titans, and the Chennai Super Kings at the Narendra Modi Stadium. In the previous 2022 edition, the Titans, led by Hardik Pandya, defeated the Super Kings in both of their encounters. The opener is expected to be an exciting match with the Super Kings seeking to secure their first victory over the Titans, but whether the reigning champions will let it slip away remains to be seen.


There are 12 venues for the league round of IPL 2023 with the home and away feature back into play. The IPL is returning to be played with full crowd capacity and here are the grounds that will host the matches this season:

  1.   Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
  2. Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
  3. Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
  4. Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
  5. M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
  6. MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  7. Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
  8. Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati
  9. Eden Gardens, Kolkata
  10.  Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
  11.  Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
  12.  Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamshala


The 2023 edition of the IPL will also feature ten franchises, just like the previous season, and the same format has been adopted to distribute 14 league games among them. The teams have been divided into two groups. The first group consists of Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, and the Lucknow Super Giants, while the second group comprises Gujarat Titans, Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Punjab Kings.

The IPL 2023 schedule has been planned with these groups in mind. The teams in the same group will play against each other twice, while the IPL teams  in different groups will play one match against each other


The BCCI announced the schedule for the upcoming IPL last month. You can download the IPL Schedule PDF for free from here.


The BCCI has not yet announced the dates for the Playoffs of IPL 2023. This stage of the tournament will consist of four matches as usual: Qualifier 1, Eliminator, Qualifier 2, and Final. The top four teams from the league stage will qualify for this round. The first and second-ranked teams will face each other in Qualifier 1. while the teams that finished third and fourth will compete in the Eliminator. The winner of Qualifier 1 will move on to the Final. while the winner of the Eliminator will play against the loser of Qualifier 1 in Qualifier 2. Finally, the winner of Qualifier 1 and Qualifier 2 will face off in the IPL 2023.


When will IPL 2023 start?

The IPL 2023 season will begin on March 31, 2023.

How many teams will participate in IPL 2023?

Ten teams will participate in IPL 2023, just like the previous season.

Which teams will participate in IPL 2023?

The ten teams that will participate in IPL 2023 are Mumbai Indians. Kolkata Knight Riders. the Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, Lucknow Super Giants, Gujarat Titans. Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Punjab Kings.

How many matches are in IPL 2023?

A total of 74 matches are in IPL 2023. This includes 70 league games and 4 Playoff matches.

What is the format for IPL 2023?

The format for IPL 2023 will be the same as the previous season. Each team will play 14 league games, 7 at home and 7 away. The top 4 teams from the league stage will qualify for the Playoffs.

ALSO READ: GPT 4 log in: How to get access to GPT-4 right now

Leave a Comment